24th September – The week just gone!

A bit behind on the travel blog with having to find internet to use.  Needless to say it is better late than never.

Sunday the 24th September my mother – who was still on holiday, had arranged for the girls and I to attend the Harvest Festival Dinner at their local church along with my niece. It was a wonderful meal with greeting from many friends from last time I was in the UK.  Sorry no photos due to a shy niece and a forgetful jet lagged me who forgot her camera and never thought to use her phone.

Talking about phones I bought new sim cards during the week only to find two our of our three phones were still locked.  I’d been told by Spark mine was unlocked…most annoying to say the least.  Glad we have one working anyway, it makes life easier.  The other two are still used as cameras and internet compatible which is great.

My parents arrived home on the Sunday afternoon. We were at my sisters at the time, when my sister arrived saying they had been dropped off in town for supper.  So me and the girls went back to their home to await their arrival.  Huge hugs all round, drinks and bedtime called. 

Nights aren’t my friend at all.  Anxiety and Panic attacks hit each night. I hated it and ended up buying some sleeping tablets and taking them, it seems to help and I am a lot calmer now though missing my husband and son a lot.  Us girls have huge hugs each night and morning, it is so cool to have them with me I think I’d be a lot messier if they’d still been in New Zealand. Here is hoping it will get better as the days progress.

On Monday we went to a group called Oasis for a coffee morning. It was lovely to see familiar faces, though sad that the one I wanted to see didn’t turn up. (She wasn’t there today either)  I hope to catch up with Kath in a few more weeks. Never mind it was a lovely morning and they celebrated two birthdays – one been my mothers. The cake was rather nice and some went home with her.  The rest of the day was the usual visit to Wetherspoons for us to get online and try to update things. Of course the darn battery ran out of power and we couldn’t find any plug sockets (did a few days later)  During the afternoon I took my dad shopping to buy a present and card for my mother.  He was so sweet, not always understanding what was going on but knowing he had to do something special for his wife.  I love my funny dad, he’s like a little boy in adult clothing or as he used to say – In his third childhood.

Old hall Sandbach
Old Hall Sandbach

During the week I showed the girls St Mary’s Church and the Old Hall which is now a great restaurant after which we moved back into town to buy bread and walk home. I think the only odd thing was the brand new house on the street my parents live on.  Totally modern and totally doesn’t fit its surroundings. It looks more like a home you’d find in New Zealand. I’m getting used to seeing it now, though still find it a bit odd. There seem to be a lot of renovations going on along the street. Another big house I remember a school friend lived in is getting an extension. It’s so close to the neighbour now you could knock on the neighbours wall.  In New Zealand houses have to be a certain distance away from each other. Obviously rules have changed a lot in the UK since I’ve been away.

For once Claudia has matching socks and Belle is the odd sock person…lol

Not much happened during the rest of the week. I tried to keep up with work via free wifi in town though that didnt’ always work and sometimes my computer battery died, which of course doesn’t help. Now i’ve found a plug socket I should be fine.

Cya next time…… all about the Dance my niece organised

2 thoughts on “24th September – The week just gone!

Leave a comment